TexasComparisons

Best Texas Real Estate Exam Prep (2026): Honest Comparison

Texas sales agent exam prep compared: Day One, PrepAgent, CompuCram, The CE Shop, Champions and Aceable, with prices, access, guarantees and who each suits. Prices checked October 6, 2026.

·7 min read·Updated Oct 6, 2026

The short answer

We make Day One, so read this with that in mind. Every competitor price and feature below comes from that company's own website, checked on October 6, 2026, with links at the bottom so you can check them yourself. Prices change often, especially during sales, so confirm before you buy. The Texas exam has two separately graded parts, an 80-question national portion and a 40-question state portion, and you need 70% on each. If you fail one, you retake only that part. That shapes which prep makes sense. • Learn best from video and live teaching: PrepAgent ($59 to $99 by the week or month). • Want a classroom: Champions School's $250 exam prep, with free class retakes for 6 months. • Only retaking the state portion: CompuCram ($69) or The CE Shop ($79) sell state-only versions. • Want study material plus practice, no time limit and a pass guarantee: Day One ($79 one time). That's us. • Still need your 180 hours: Aceable Deluxe bundles the course with three months of PrepAgent.

Texas exam prep compared

Prices as listed on each site on October 6, 2026.
ProductPriceAccessIf you fail
Day One$79 one time (TX, CA and FL)LifetimeFull refund after finishing every chapter and scoring 80%+ on 3 practice exams
PrepAgent$59 / $79 / $991 week / 1 month / 3 monthsNo pass guarantee; refund within 5 days of purchase
CompuCram$109 (state portion only: $69)180 days, then $40 to $50 per extensionFull refund (50% if you pass one portion) after 3+ simulated exams over 80%, testing within 30 days and 6 months of buying
The CE Shop Exam Prep Edge$135 (either portion alone: $79)Not statedFull refund after mastering every topic exam and passing 3 practice exams at 80%+
Champions School exam prep$250Free class and practice exam retakes for 6 monthsNo pass guarantee; no refund once you access material
Colibri Real Estate Exam Prep (runs on CompuCram)$115 (often $92 with a code); live tier $239Not statedRefund after 3 simulated exams at 80%+, if you test within 30 days of finishing

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

What each one is best at

Day One: study chapters built from the Texas Real Estate License Act, TREC rules and the exam outline, audio for every chapter, an AI tutor that cites the statute, and practice exams split into the 80-question national and 40-question state portions, with fresh questions each time. No video or live teaching. PrepAgent: 75+ animated videos, audio, flashcards and live webinars five times a week, plus $69 live crash courses, including Texas state portion crash courses. Read Day One vs PrepAgent. CompuCram: practice drills, vocabulary games, simulated exams and a Readiness Indicator; Texas is the one state where it publishes a count (over 1,300 questions). Read Day One vs CompuCram. The CE Shop Exam Prep Edge: assessment, topic lessons and unlimited practice exams, with national-only and state-only versions. Champions School: a well-known Texas school offering exam prep in a classroom, virtual classroom or online, with mock exams, a math review and free retakes of the class for 6 months.

If you still need your 180 hours

Exam prep doesn't count toward Texas's 180 hours of qualifying education. Aceable's Texas packages list at $449 (Basic, no exam prep), $649 (Deluxe) and $1,119 (Premium), and were on sale for $519 and $669 when we checked. Deluxe and Premium include three months of PrepAgent, live webinars and tutoring, and Aceable's pass guarantee, which requires you to finish all hours and test within 90 days. Read Day One vs Aceable. Champions also sells a 180-hour course bundle with exam prep. See how to choose a TREC-approved school.

Free and cheap options

• Pearson VUE's Texas Real Estate Candidate Handbook has the content outline and sample questions. Free. • Pearson VUE sells official practice tests for the national portion for $19.95. There's no official state-portion practice test. • Free sample tests from PrepAgent, CompuCram and Aceable. • Day One's free Texas practice exam, a full-length timed exam with your score on each section, plus free practice questions. Aim for 80% or higher on several full-length timed exams, for both portions, before booking. See what's on the Texas exam and what happens if you fail.

Not included

We left out products whose prices or terms we couldn't confirm on their own sites on October 6, 2026, including Kaplan and Real Estate Exam Scholar. That isn't a judgment on their quality.

Sources

Checked October 6, 2026. • PrepAgent plans and features: prepagent.com/sign-up • PrepAgent refund policy: prepagent.com/money-back-guarantee • PrepAgent crash courses: prepagent.com/crash-courses • CompuCram Texas: compucram.com • CompuCram guarantee: compucram.com/why-compucram/our-guarantee and FAQ • CompuCram extensions: compucram.com/exam-prep/extensions • The CE Shop Exam Prep Edge, Texas: theceshop.com • The CE Shop pass guarantee: theceshop.com/pass-guarantee • Champions School exam prep: championsschool.com • Colibri Real Estate Texas exam prep: colibrirealestate.com and Pass or Don't Pay • Aceable Texas packages: aceableagent.com/real-estate-license/texas • Aceable guarantee: aceableagent.com/guarantee • Exam format, passing scores and practice tests: Pearson VUE Texas real estate and candidate handbook • Day One guarantee terms: Terms

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best exam prep for the Texas real estate exam?

It depends on how you learn. PrepAgent is best for video and live webinars, Champions for a classroom, CompuCram for drills with a readiness gauge, and Day One for study chapters with audio, unlimited practice on both portions, no time limit and a pass guarantee at $79.

Can I buy prep for just the Texas state portion?

Yes. CompuCram sells a state-portion-only version for $69 and The CE Shop sells one for $79 (checked October 6, 2026). Day One includes both portions in its $79 price.

How many questions do I need to get right on the Texas exam?

56 of the 80 scored national questions and 28 of the 40 scored state questions, which is 70% on each. The exam also includes unscored pretest questions that you can't tell apart.

texasexam-prepreal-estate-examcomparisontrec

Ready to pass the Texas real estate exam?

Study material built from Texas Occupations Code 1101, Property Code, TREC rules, and promulgated contract forms. Full 80+40 practice exams and a personal tutor. $79, every state included.